Aurora Borealis

Hi guys! If you think that I am speaking french in my title, sorry, I’m not that sophisticated. An aurora borealis is just a fancy term for northern lights. Today, I am going to explain why they happen so, after you read this post, you will feel a little more educated.

Northern Lights

As you all know, I love aurora borealises. In the sky, while these are going on, high-energy collisions between ionized particles are taking place in the ionosphere. “What is and ionized particle!?” you ask? Ionized particles are when atoms have become electrically charged because of an imbalance of negative and positive charges. When this happens, we say they have been ionized. The ionosphere is the place where this occurs. So, when all these ionized particles are colliding, the result is the high energy light that bonuses and moves around. Isn’t that awesome?!

I don’t know if you know this, but I actually got to see some northern lights on our trip this summer! It so cool and I was so happy! Comment on this post and tell me if you like these kind of science/educational posts. Also, if you have any more questions on how aurora borealises take place, don’t hesitate to ask. Thanks for reading!

~Maris

Leave a Reply

