Take up the Cross

Hello ya’ll! Welcome to another week.

Take up Your Cross

Today is going to be a post were I’m going to be talking about Matthew 16:24 “Then Jesus said to His disciples, ‘If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me. ‘” I don’t know how many of you are familiar with that verse but if you aren’t, I will be giving you a little bit info about it at its’ application to my/our lives.

So first of all, Jesus is talking to His disciples and He is telling them that ‘If anyone wishes to follow Me, he must take up His cross.’ Now, as we know, Jesus died for us on the cross so when Jesus says ‘Take up his cross’ He doesn’t mean to go die on a cross. What He is saying, is to give up everything and be prepared for the hard things about following Himself and being a Christian.

Now, that really sounds nice, in theory, but when I have been thinking about this recently, I have been stepping back and looking at my angle on life. Jesus is saying in this verse, “he must deny himself” meaning, a person must be willing to give up everything. When I think about that, I look at my life and say, ‘Would I be willing to give up my nice house, my family, all my friends, my health for Jesus?’

Right now, I would have to say truthfully, no. I am a selfish human and I think that the two roots of this are pride and selfishness. In Luke 14:27 it says ‘And whoever does not carry their cross and follow me cannot be My disciple.’ We see Jesus says here that Jesus says, if we don’t carry our cross or be willing to do so, we can’t be His disciple. I don’t know about you but I think that I would rather be Jesus’ disciple than to have all my wordly treasures. As Jesus says in Mark 8:36, “For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world, and forfeit his soul?

My challenge for ya’ll today is to look at your lives and examine if you are willing to deny everything for Jesus if He asks you to. I hope that someday I will get to a place were I can say, ‘Yes! I am willing Jesus!’ But right now, that is something for me to work on.

~Maris

 

2 thoughts on “Take up the Cross

Leave a Reply

