Speech Memorizing: NCFCA Style

 

Hello everyone! I don’t know how many of you know this but next week is our Regional Speech and Debate competition and I qualified to go this year in two of my speeches. I am really exited but before I go, you know it, I have been having to practice my speeches.

Now, I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with NCFCA (National Christian Forensics and Communications Association), but the rules come out to be that you need to have your speech me a minimum of ten minutes and memorized. Well, you can guess that these speeches took a long time to memorize (I did compete with 4 speeches in total, that’s forty minutes of talking right there). Today, I would like to share with you some of my memorizing tips for y’all if you’re memorizing stuff.

1. Read through your speech out loud many, many, many times!                                                 This tip is key. I don’t even know how many times I read through my speeches. My siblings even have parts of them memorized.

2.Record yourself saying the speech.                                                                                                  This might be something that you may now want to do but it is very key, especially for those auditory learners. While you are listening to your speech, read through it as well with your finger following along were you are. Thy to use as many senses as possible because that results in faster learning.

3.Practice                                                                                                                                                                       This tip might be obvious to some of you but it can get lost in all the businesses. When I had four speeches to practice, that was 40 minutes right there that I had to take to practice. Also, between tournaments, if you don’t practice, you will lose some of the progress that you made. I will go further and further back into your memory.  Don’t let that happen!

4.Practice again!                                                                                                                                                                     After you have your speech memorized, practice it in front of others so that they can give you tips on your presenting, and so you also feel more comfortable with that skill. I have practiced my speech so many times in front of others, they are tired of listening to my speeches. (If that ever happens to you, pull out those trusty stuffed animals and get talking!) Another good idea is to go in front of a mirror or record yourself and then watch. Then you can critique yourself and your presentation.

I hope you liked these tips. Comment below if you have things to memorize or if you can relate to this post. Thanks for reading everyone!  🙂

~Maris

Leave a Reply

