The Eyes are the Windows to the Soul

Hey everyone! This is the middle of the second to last week of summer!!!! I’m not really prepared to go back to school yet but I’m pretty sure this year will be a blast so I’m not too afraid.  🙂

Today’s post is on the saying,

Eyes

This quote actually originates from the Bible, Matthew 6:22-23 which says, “The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are healthy, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are unhealthy, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!”

I think there is a double meaning to this quote.

First of all, in a Biblical sense, this quote (from Matthew) is saying that the eye is the window in which either light or dark can enter our body. Really, the dark is sin as most sin enters through the eyes. What we fill our time looking at is what we fill our time thinking about.

What I believe the second meaning is that through the eyes, we are able to see the soul. I don’t know about you, but when I look at people’s eyes, I can kind of tell what they are thinking. My drama director says to cover up the face so you can only see your eyes. Convey your emotion through them.

If you think about watching people’s eyes, you can actually learn a lot about them. I find I tend to watch people’s eyes a lot when I want to know if they are sad or mad or happy.

Another thing, in conversation, you usually don’t look at someone’s lips or nose when you are talking to them. (Have you ever done that for fun? It’s hard!) It’s just weird.

I hope you guys like my insight! Comment below first on some of your thoughts for this quote. The comments don’t have to be profound; I’m looking for what this quote means to you. Secondly, comment on some other quotes/sayings that you want me to try to give you insight on! 😉 Lastly, comment on what back-to-school posts you would like me to create for you for next week; and as always, thanks for reading!

~Maris

Leave a Reply

