Thanksgiving!

Hello everyone! I hope ya’ll are have a great Wednesday afternoon, the Wednesday before Thanksgiving! Today I just wanted to talk about what our family does on Thanksgiving and then tell you a little bit about why Thanksgiving is a special holiday for me.

thanksgivingdinner

First off, today is Wednesday, the day before Thanksgiving and I got to sleep in! (sort of!) I’ve been having a relaxing day but because it is the day before Thanksgiving, we need to start getting the food prepared. We usually have a lot of traditional dishes including turkey (what! 🙂 ), gravy, squash, smashed potatoes, green bean casserole, buns, cranberry salad, orange salad (like a jello), stuffing, beets (from our own garden!), apple and pumpkin pies (which we are also making from scratch using foods from our garden) and sparkling juice! It is a lot to do but so much fun! The morning of Thanksgiving, we usually bake cinnamon rolls for breakfast and that’s all we eat until dinner. We then prepare the food and eat it! After that, we just hang out as a family! I love this get together with everyone so much!  🙂

Thanksgiving is special because it is one of the holidays I think about and wish for throughout the whole year. I love the feeling of the business, the snow falling, the baking and then the fellowship around the table with people I love. I know this might be cliché, but I just wanted to share with you guys what I’m thankful for this year. I’m really thankful for my amazing parents, who have been faithful to me, to each other and our family. My mom is so organized and caring. She is very patient and always puts the families needs ahead of her own, giving up time to serve us. My dad is very thoughtful and fun to be around. He is always giving up his time for me and our family. (He’s always so exited to get on his snowmobiles, even though there isn’t much snow yet.) I’m so thankful for both of them. I’m also thankful for my wonderful grandparents who have been able to be there for me and help me. I’m also thankful for my siblings. I love being with them and having fun together. I’m also thankful for my amazing friends in theatre, cross country, youth group and co-ops. I wouldn’t be the same person if it wasn’t for each and everyone of these people I mentioned, so if you are reading this now and I mentioned you, thank you for all you put into my life. I love you!  ❤

The last thing I’m thankful for is my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. He is everything to me. He is always with me and He will never fail me or let me down. He is a patient, loving, perfect Father. He gave me all I have and has blessed me so tremendously, especially compared to some out there, who have nothing. I have no reason at all to complain. Even if I didn’t have anything on this earth to call my own, I still wouldn’t have reason to complain or give up because I have Jesus and He is all I need.givethanks

Tell me what y’all are looking forward to this Thanksgiving, what some of your traditions are, and what you are thankful for. I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

~Maris

 

Leave a Reply

