My 2016 Review

Hello everyone! Today is Friday and that means that Sunday is New Years Day! I thought it would fun for me to do a quick run down of my 2016 in this post, my 2016 review. I’ll go month by month, telling a few of the major things that happened. I hope you enjoy!

month

We had our 1st speech and debate tournament right at the beginning of the year, January 6th-10th. That was very stressful but it was a very good practice!

Our Music Man play also started rehearsing.

The rest of the month was school and cold.

month1

This month was mostly spent with school work. We had another speech and debate tournament from February 3rd-6th. I qualified for the Regional tournament from this one which was super exiting!

I feel like January and February are very bleak months  with nothing much to do.

month2

This month we had another speech and debate tournament.

Easter happened and my sisters and I played violins for our Good Friday Service. I was also able to face paint for Easter which was a blessing for me and for the kids.

month3

The Music Man Shows happened and they were a blast! I was sad it was over though.  😦

My birthday happened on the 19th, my brother’s birthday on the 21st, my older sister’s birthday on the 23rd.

We had our Regional speech and debate tournament which I was able to compete in 2 speeches in. That was a blessing from God and I was so thankful for that amazing opportunity.

The last thing that happened, on April 30th, is that we had a surprise 50th birthday for my mom! Now that was fun!  🙂

month4

May the 4th, of course.  😉

I was able to help with my younger sibling’s Jungle book performances which was a blast!

We went to a graduation for a couple of my friends. It seems every year I know more and more people that graduate!

School ended as well this month.

 

month5

My cross country summer running starts. Some of us did some pre-season, summer running to build up miles. My goal was 200 miles and I reached it!  🙂

My dad’s birthday happened on the 8th.

I also was able to help with my Church’s VBS program which was again such a blessing to me.

month6

July 4th came and went. I was reminded of a year ago on this day how we got stranded 1/2 an hour from our house in our van that overheated. We had to inch home, blasting the heat in the 90 degree weather. This slow trip took about an hour and a half. It is a fun story to tell about though and we still got home in time for the fire works!

My sisters and I were able to play in the Bluegrass Blast that was put on by our violin/fiddle teacher. That was awesome!

In the middle of the month, we went to the Dakotas. I had never seen Mt. Rushmore before and that was pretty awing, it was humongous!

At the end of the month, I went to a government camp which was a very cool experience.

month7

I think for this whole summer I was struggling with the summer blues. Even though it seemed like I had a lot going on, they only last for one day or so and after that (plus before) you are literally doing nothing. I had the summer blues really bad last year but this year I was able to cope with it better.

We went boating a lot this month. I also did a lot of running, for my summer miles and I worked on my garden. Also, if I’m being perfectly honest, I did a good amount of tanning laying on our deck. All these things really were what I did to cope with my summer blues.

At the end of the month, cross country started and then things got going.

month8

At the beginning of the month, I went to my cousin’s wedding. It was a fun, short getaway!

School started of course. I also took a CLEP test (if you don’t know what that is, it is basically a college level exam that, if you pass it, you get college credit) and passed!

We started having cross country meets weekly, our 1st 4 happened during this month.

month9

School took off and by this time, I’d gotten into a routine.

We took our school pictures…not that exiting.

Cross country ended which I was really sad about!   😦

month10

We had the cross country state meet which 2 of our girls qualified for which was amazing!

Election day happened as well as thanksgiving and black Friday.

month11

On the 1st of the month all the way to the 11th, all the 8 Beauty and the Beast shows took place. I was able to preform in all the shows and they went very well!

Christmas break came and is still here.

I was able to play my violin with my dad for our Christmas services which was nerve racking but fun at the same time.

Now, tomorrow is New Years Eve….

Wow! Thank you to all who actually took the time to read through that whole thing and made it to the end! 🙂 I feel like this year I went through a lot of spiritual growth. I am so thankful for all the amazing opportunities the Lord gave me this year, to play in church twice, to be able to compete with my speeches at the Regional level, for the amazing runs of Music Man and Beauty and the Beast, for helping out with the VBS program, and so many more things!

What are you guys doing for new years? What are some of your resolutions? I hope you have had an amazing year and I hope to see you in 2017!

~Maris   🙂

Leave a Reply

