An Adjustment

Hello ya’ll! How are you on this beautiful Wednesday morning? I hope you all are having a good week so far! Today I wanted to tell you about a new thing that happened to me, I got guppies! (For those of you who remember, I have had betta fish before but these guppies are a new experience for me.)

I got these 4 guppies on Saturday. Here are a couple of pics. (Sorry about the quality on these. I was using our ipad and it doesn’t take the best of photos)

This is basically my tank set up. You can see 3 of the 4 fish in this shot.

We can start off with my male guppy. His name is Hamilton (from the musical). From what I’ve seen of him so far, he’s pretty shy and really likes Bucky.

This is Bucky (Captain America). She is a girl, but Bucky is one of my favorite characters from Captain America and I thought that name suited her. You can’t really tell from this picture, but she has a blue tail.

My 2nd female (the fish in front) is named Robespierre (French Revolution). I know that it is a boy’s name but again I thought it suited her, especially considering what she did (I’ll tell you about that in a little bit).

My last female is named Antoinette (Marie Antoinette-French Revolution). She is just a clear little fish. (You can tell by all my fish’s names what I’m in to right now.)  🙂

Now to tell you the interesting/big news. The reason why Antoinette is in that little container is because, Monday morning, she started giving birth to live fry! I don’t know how many she had had, but when I saw her, she was right in the middle of giving birth and then right after the fry came out, Robespierre came up and ate it! I quickly took Antoinette out of the tank and gave her her own little cup to finish giving birth in. She only gave birth to one little fry in the cup so I only saved one. (Although, I did see Robespierre going after another quick little fry in the tank who got away so there may be more in the tank that I don’t know about.)

Yesterday, I just decided to put the little fry (whom I am thinking about naming dory-because of the baby dory) back into the tank and see how it survives. The water that the little baby was in was getting super polluted and I couldn’t really catch the fry to take it out to change the water. What to do….?

It is pretty interesting to get 4 fish and like the day after start getting more. We’ll have to see how the fry survive, if they make it to adult hood.  🙂

Thanks for reading everyone! That is the story of my adjustment. Tell me about something interesting that happened to you in these past couple of days. I’ll see ya on Friday!  🙂

~Maris

2 thoughts on “An Adjustment

Leave a Reply

