Summer XC Running

Hello all! It is now finally June. I don’t know what y’all are thinking, but I feel like May was pretty long. But now it is over and the sunshine is out! Most everyone is out of school or ending soon! Yay!!!

Because it is June and I’m in cross country, I now have to start my summer miles. We have from June 1st-August 13th to complete our summer miles. My goal for this summer (or that length of time) is 300 miles.

Even though it is super hot and super hard to keep the motivation going, it is so worth it for when you start XC, because you are already in shape and you can focus on getting faster, instead of starting from scratch. I’ve already run 100 miles, in my pre-summer running conditioning. That made me happy.  🙂

For those of you doing the same thing I am, I’m so happy for you! Let me know how many miles you’re going and what you’re goals/challenges are. For all my XC runners out there, I wanted to share my favorite quote for running with you.

That quote makes me so happy! Remember that when you are on your 5th mile in a 7 mile run in the blazing hot sun. Y’all can do it!!! Good luck all my summer runners!

Before I leave you, I wanted to share with y’all some tips that have helped me from when I’ve been running. The first thing is to have ice cold water ready for you when you are done. The second thing is to set a goal and stick with it. (Like, I’m going 6 miles, I want to run at least 5 of them or so). The third thing is go to the bathroom before you start. It is the worst thing to have the urge right as you complete your 1st mile and you have 4, 5, 6 left to go. My last tip is to get cute running clothes to inspire you and make you feel good while you’re running.

I got these 3 shirts on clearance at Walmart and I’m so happy I did. They keep me cool while running, make me feel good, and of course, let me get a tan while running (the most important thing right?  🙂

I hope y’all enjoyed this post! Thank you so much for reading it. Remember to comment below and let me know if you are running through this summer and if you have any other tips to add. I’ll see you next Monday!

~Maris  🙂

Leave a Reply

